RSS

Inner organiser

20 Jun

Some people are naturally more organised than others. But that doesn’t mean people are either organised or disorganised – I think it’s a sliding scale.

There are people with butterfly personalities who seem to live their lives in random chaos. There are people whose lives can’t function without organising every last detail. Then there are the well-adjusted in-betweeners who organise the important things and embrace the chaos of the unimportant things. And you can’t tell which one someone is just by looking at them!

I’d like to think I’m somewhere in the middle – I like order, tidiness and planning my time and my posessions. It gives me a kind of inner peace. I have to admit to a tendency to over-organise sometimes, but I’ll often balance that out (consciously or subconsciously) by doing something a bit more random and chaotic.

Anyway, as a fan of being organised, I like to encourage other people to embrace their inner organiser!

One of my projects this year was to organise my knitting needles by making myself a needle roll – you can read about it here. After the success of this needle roll, I made another one especially for Sewing World magazine. The picture is below and you can read more about it here.

Needle roll for Sewing World

The pattern instructions for the needle roll are in the July issue of Sewing World, which is on sale now.
Inside, I explain how to customise the needle roll to fit your collection – something that I wish I’d worked out before I made mine!

I’m really hoping that it encourages at least a few knitters to whip out some spare fabric and get more organised – I like the idea of spreading the same inner peace that I get from being organised.

So which sort are you, a chaotic randomer or a tidy-zilla?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Inner organiser

  1. pillowsalamode

    June 20, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    This is so pretty! I don’t knit or crochet (yet!!!) but I’ve made these for colored pencils for the mommies in the family to carry in their purses for kiddie entertainment. 🙂 I started with a placemat . . . so easy and fun! You have a lovely blog! 🙂

     

Leave a comment