RSS

Jumping up and down

25 Apr

I’ve been working in magazines since the dawn of the 21st century, and over the years, the thrill of seeing my work in print has dwindled a little. The excitement is still there, but it’s turned into more of a satisfied smile – nowadays it takes something that I’m really truly proud of to make me feel joyous enough to jump up and down!

But jump up and down I did, when I received the latest issue of Sewing World through the door. There in full-colour print was my fringed 80-style bag, ‘Boho Chic’, which you may remember from this post and this picture of me proudly showing it off!

Fringed 80s-style bag

I put a lot of time, effort and thought into this project – it was my first with Sewing World and my first since the painful days of Sew Hip. So seeing it finally in print really meant a lot.

I really like what Sewing World have done with the project – the photography is good and all the little design elements (like flourishes and x’s that look like kisses) make it feel really girly and modern. If you’ve seen a copy and are planning to make it, do let me know – I’d love to see your version of it!

In the meantime, I’ll give you a sneak preview of my next project for Sewing World, a needle roll (which was a satisfying way of combining my love of knitting and sewing!). You may remember the one I made for myself in this post. The lovely editor of Sewing World saw it here and asked me to make one for the magazine. I used some lovely fabric by Paula Ozier, which I’ve had my eye on for a while. Here’s the needle roll…

Needle roll for Sewing World

I think this will be going into the July issue, but I’ll blog again when the issue is out – maybe you’ll know when the issue’s out because you’ll feel the vibrations of my jumping up and down when I receive my copy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Sewing

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Jumping up and down

Leave a Reply

 
