RSS

Crafted All Sorts

11 Dec

Until recently, I’ve always been a practical crafter, preferring to make practical items like hats, scarves, bags, and other useful items that serve a purpose or fulfil a need. I’m not sure what’s changed but I find myself more and more drawn to whimsical projects that are all about fun, joy and decoration, such as amigurumi toys and fabric flowers.

My latest project is all about having fun with crochet and hooking your own liquorice all sorts:

Crochet All Sorts

Crochet All Sorts

I’m not actually a big fan of eating these sweets because I don’t like liquorice! But I remember them being very popular when I was a child – I love the iconic look of them and the colourful designs, so I thought they’d be perfect to crochet. I even bought a pack of the real thing to make sure I got the look just right – can you tell the difference?

Real All Sorts

Real All Sorts

Ok so my crochet versions aren’t perfect, but I’m still really pleased with them. Actually, the pack of sweets I bought didn’t include all the different sweets, which was disappointing, so I had to use a bit of artistic imagination… and Jonny still enjoyed eating them up for me afterwards.

Making these sweets was so much fun and each one is finished really fast, which is soo satisfyingly! I used spare bits of DK yarn that I had in my stash and each one uses only a few grams of yarn so they’re great little projects for stash-busting. They’re not difficult either – I could crochet all the bits for one All Sort on my morning bus commute and then sew it together on the commute home. That’s about an hour for each sweet. The sewing together can be a little fiddly because the pieces are so small, but it’s not difficult.

Mind you, the Button All Sort did take a bit longer though (that’s the round sweet with little bits on it) because I decided to decorate them with tiny seed beads for a more authentic look. They still looked good without the beads, but I think the extra detail was worth the extra time.

Beaded Button All Sort

Beaded Button All Sorts

In case you’re not sure of the official names for each All Sort, I’ve made a handy gif-tastic guide for you…are you ready?

Some of the names are pretty obvious, like the Battenberg All Sort, which looks like Battenberg cake:

Happy Battenberg All Sorts

Happy Battenberg All Sorts

The round All Sorts with liquorice in the centre (I think they look a bit like eyes!) are Coconut Chips:

Dancing Coconut Chips

Dancing Coconut Chips

Next up is the little black and white tube that seems to have the least-known name: Cream Rock!

Wriggling Cream Rock

Wriggling Cream Rock

And finally, the most well-known All Sort seems to be the sandwich – do you prefer the standard sandwich or the many-layered Cube Sandwich?

Sandwich All Sorts

Sandwich All Sorts playing together

Yes, I have learnt how to make gifs! And I think they really help to bring the sweets to life. Although now I’m thinking about whether to make the sweets out of felt – that would be so cute!

If you like these little makes, you can find the pattern for three of the All Sorts in the latest issue of Mollie Makes magazine (issue 61), on sale now. Look out for the pattern for all of the sweets on my Etsy shop, coming soon: www.etsy.com/uk/shop/MakeMeDo

I’ll also be posting a step-by-step guide to the trickiest sewing technique involved in making the Coconut Chip and the Button, so come back at the weekend for that.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on December 11, 2015 in Crochet, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Crafted All Sorts

  1. rainbowjunkiecorner

    December 11, 2015 at 3:52 pm

    Very clever. Beautifully done.

     
    • Becky Skuse

      December 11, 2015 at 5:09 pm

      Aww thanks! They’re so tiny that sewing them up is a bit fiddly, but it’s totally worth it! Becky 🙂

       
  2. Erin and Sky

    December 11, 2015 at 1:28 pm

    Love your little gif’s of them. That is really funny. It’s nice to make fun stuff like this.

     
    • Becky Skuse

      December 11, 2015 at 1:47 pm

      Oh thanks, I wasn’t sure about the gifs to begin with, but they really bring the sweeties to life! Becky 🙂

       
  3. nanacathy2

    December 11, 2015 at 12:43 pm

    So cute and funny love liquorice allsorts. I have seen them knitted but not crocheted , very clever.

     
    • Becky Skuse

      December 11, 2015 at 1:44 pm

      Thanks, they’re really fun to make and look at! Becky 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
