RSS

Oh Christmas tree!

24 Oct

Yes, it’s that time of year again, when crafting turns festive and you remember how good shades of green and red look together. If you think October is too soon for all this, let me tell you this little secret: for a lot of crafters like me who also work on magazines, thoughts of Christmas start even earlier – usually July or August. I know.

Fortunately for me, I quite like Christmas. Plus, I’m lucky to have the creative freedom to only create the Christmassy makes that I like. Christmas trees are my absolute favourite aspect of the season, so I was more than happy to crochet a little tree for Simply Crochet magazine. I actually made this way back in August, but decided to spare you the C-word until now…

Finished crochet popcorn tree

Finished crochet popcorn tree

I used simple popcorn stitches to make the tree, while the little poinsettia is made using puff stitches. This sweet little shrub was a handy way to illustrate the techniques covered in my technical feature on popcorn and puff stitches.

However, it took me a little while to figure out the maths I needed to form the cone shape. I started off with not enough increases and the tree was too straight…

Crochet popcorn tree: try 1

Crochet popcorn tree: try 1

Then I ended up with too many increases and it was too flat…

Crochet popcorn tree: try 2

Crochet popcorn tree: try 2

Finally, I hit the Goldilocks spot and got the increases juuuust right.

The poinsettia flower was much more straightforward though and I’m thinking about making a garland of these to hang on this year’s actual Christmas tree…

Crochet puffs poinsettia flower

Crochet puffs poinsettia flower

After making it, I realised that if you crocheted it with a yellow yarn, it would look like a star. Two patterns in one!

If you’re interested in getting the pattern, check out the latest issue of Simply Crochet (issue 37). And be prepared for more festive makes coming soon… (sorry)

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2015 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Oh Christmas tree!

  1. Debbie Sixsmith

    October 29, 2015 at 9:22 am

    Loving making your little trees…four so far…I’m planning on a mini multicoloured frestive forest! Great pattern, thank you.

     
    • Becky Skuse

      October 29, 2015 at 10:21 am

      Wow, that’s super impressive! I’m a really slow crocheter (and knitter) so four already is amazing! There are so many shades of green you could use, or are you going totally multicoloured? Either way, I’m sure it’ll look great. If you can, post a picture on the Simply Crochet Facebook page, I’d love to see! 🙂

       
  2. rainbowjunkiecorner

    October 24, 2015 at 5:15 pm

    What a clever little tree and so interesting to see your process as you devised the pattern.

     
    • Becky Skuse

      October 24, 2015 at 6:01 pm

      Thanks! Usually I just undo any test makes but these ones seemed interesting 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
