RSS

Rainbow storage

17 Oct

Some of the greatest creations involve bringing together two good things to make one great thing. That’s how I felt recently when I saw this set of storage boxes in rainbow colours:

Rainbow storage set

Rainbow storage set

I like rainbows. I like being organised. And I like cute little storage boxes. Needless to say, it had to come home with me. It was only £7, which seemed like a reasonable price for something that’s bringing me joy every day! Oh and it’s helping to keep me organised.

I’ve filled each colourful ‘Really Useful Box’ with different sewing accessories, which had previously been either cluttering up my stash of cotton reels, lying loose at the bottom of a larger box, or just forgotten about sitting in a boring old plastic bag that was far too big.

Now each little bit of useful stuff has a colourful home to enjoy. Such as my safety pins…

Safety pins

Safety pins

I like how the contents of each box are so secure – I could take this box out with me and no matter how much my bag gets shaken up, those pins ain’t goin’ nowhere!

But the little grey clips undo very easily so you can remove the lid quickly…

Box with lid

Box with lid

The set came with boxes in eight different colours, and two boxes of each colour – for anyone good at maths, that’s 16 boxes. They originally came in a random colour arrangement, which I played with until I got a nice-looking rainbow effect from one corner to the other.

I’d like to say that I colour-coded the contents of each box, but I didn’t – it’s surprisingly hard to make a link between colours and sewing bits and bobs. So the safety pins are in the red box. If you have a cleverer suggestion for the right colour, do let me know.

Here’s a run-down of what’s in each box, in case you have a colour-coding suggestion for each one – I’m very happy to move the contents around if you have a good idea:

Red: safety pins, crewel embroidery threads
Orange: Miscellaneous, poppers and hooks & eyes
Yellow: Zips, small pieces of sticky felt
Green: Sewing machine accessories, sewing clips
Turquoise: Wide elastic, long pins
Blue: a long piece of denim ribbon, long thread ends for hand sewing
Purple: shirring elastic, empty cotton reels and thimbles
Pink: metallic threads, cards of random sewing threads

You see, how could you colour code that!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2015 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Rainbow storage

  1. triciandaisy

    October 21, 2015 at 7:51 pm

    I have a rainbow box to,I have sequins in mine ,lovely

     
    • Becky Skuse

      October 21, 2015 at 7:53 pm

      Ooh yes, I have thought about buying another set for beads!

       
  2. rainbowjunkiecorner

    October 21, 2015 at 6:03 pm

    I like rainbows too and that looks a lovely set of boxes. Lucky you!

     
    • Becky Skuse

      October 21, 2015 at 6:30 pm

      Oh thanks! Rainbows are the best, aren’t they? I love how little things like colour can bring so much joy! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
