RSS

Stylish neckerchief

23 Sep

Yes, my obsession with hairpin crochet has been continuing into September… this time, I’ve been making something that’s a first for me – a neckerchief.

I don’t remember ever wearing a neckerchief, but I’m told that I have a long neck so I can carry it off – I’m taking that as a compliment! For now though, I’ve enlisted the help of my bust, Betsy, who seemed to enjoy wearing it…

Neckerchief side

Neckerchief side

I made this for Simply Crochet magazine and they gave me an alpaca yarn for it, which I wouldn’t usually choose, but it was incredibly light and soft – perfect for something being worn right next to the skin.

I really like the autumnal shades of lilac and damson, and how the darker shade joins the lighter hairpin strips to form lacy stripes. You could use any spare yarn though – the whole thing only used 12g of the UK Alpaca Superfine DK yarn.

Since I’m such a neckerchief novice, I’m not sure whether I prefer it tied on the side (above) or at the front (below)…

Neckerchief front

Neckerchief front

Which one do you prefer the look of? As part of my research, I looked at a lot of videos on how to tie a neckerchief and I think I prefer it tied at one side…

Anyway, if you’re interested in the pattern, it’s in issue 36 of Simply Crochet, and coming soon to my Etsy shop.

I had so much spare yarn – as well as spare enthusiasm for the technique – that I also made a long, wavy hairpin scarf. That’s for a later issue of Simply Crochet, coming soon…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2015 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Stylish neckerchief

  1. nanacathy2

    October 13, 2015 at 7:26 pm

    I prefer the side tie. Lovely colour.

     
    • Becky Skuse

      October 21, 2015 at 6:32 pm

      Thanks! I think I like the side tie best too. And the colours are perfect for cheering up dull autumn days 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
