RSS

Wedding crafts

04 May

Apologies for the delay in posting, a little thing happened recently…

Grab from my Facebook page

After more than 11 years together, it’s partly just an administrative exercise, but I’m hoping to inject some crafty fun!

We’re looking at October for the big day, so I’ve been focusing on wedding-related tasks and crafts, some of which I can share, some of which I can’t!

One of the first ideas I had for a little make was this, a mini crochet top hat:

Crochet mini top hat

Crochet mini top hat

I previously worked on a wedding magazine and I remembered seeing some adorable mini top hats on brides, bridesmaids and flowergirls. It was easy enough to crochet one as a cute little thing for one of our three young nieces to wear on the day. I need to attach it to an Alice band and then we’ll see which niece likes it – or I’ll just make one each for them so there’s no arguing! Plus, Jonny has a nephew so I might make one in grey or black for him…

Anyway, the pattern is really straightforward. I just used a little DK cotton yarn in white, a scrap of blue yarn, and a 4mm hook. Then I added a small circle of cardboard to fit into the top of the hat and help keep its shape. When finished, the hat measures 4cm high, 5.5cm diameter at the top and 8cm diameter at the brim.

I’ve also been working on some other items that I can’t share with you just yet, except to say that it’s involved turning this mess of tangled yarn…

Tangled yarn

Tangled yarn

…into these two neatly wound balls of tidy yarn:

Tidy yarn

Tidy yarn

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2015 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Wedding crafts

  1. Josie Day

    June 8, 2015 at 5:09 pm

    I got a proposal pretty much like that and we got hitched because it was cheaper than sorting out wills and legal papers. We had a quick ceremony at the local registrars’ office and then chips at the pub. We’ve been married nearly twenty years and are blissfully happy! Wishing you every single happiness xx

     
    • Becky Skuse

      June 8, 2015 at 5:30 pm

      That’s so nice! Yeah exactly, the motivation for having that one big day is administrative but the love and happiness is every day. And you can’t beat chips at the pub! Bx

       
  2. CraftyStaci

    May 6, 2015 at 6:51 pm

    Congratulations! Your photos are so sweet! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
