RSS

Cosy cowl

16 Mar

Another cosy crochet make I’ve been working on recently is this chunky cowl for issue 29 of Simply Crochet (on sale now!):

Textured scarf

Textured scarf

The challenge was to create a textured cowl using back loop and front loop crochet stitches. Once I started looking, I found that the options are almost infinite! But in the end, I chose four different textures and made them in four different colours.

From the top (in the photo), I used the beige yarn to make a chunky ridged texture, the lilac yarn was ideal for a lacy crossed double treble texture, I used the baby blue yarn to create a subtle raised texture, and then the teal green yarn was perfect for a wide ribbed texture.

I joined all four pieces together, end to end, to make one long cowl for wrapping around and around. To top it all off, I made a layered flower, placing layers of different stitches in the front and back loops. I think the flower helps to hold the layers together and adds a little touch of femininity. It’s almost like four different cowls in one!

It’s oh-so warm in the chunky yarn, but I’d also like to make a lighter version in different colours of DK cotton for those cool summer mornings.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 16, 2015 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
