RSS

Feeding the ducks

04 Mar

My makes have had a distinctly cosy feel recently, thanks to the chilly temperatures we’ve been experiencing here in the UK – spring is trying to break through now, but with limited success.

One of my favourite recent makes are these little crocheted mittens…

Wearing mittens

Wearing mittens

Now you can get the pattern to make your own pair by visiting my Ravelry shop here.

I made these mittens over the festive break while watching a couple of Christmas movies, and they were surprisingly quick and easy to make.

I’ve never had fingerless mittens before and I’ve realised they’re perfect for our regular Sunday morning trips to the local duck pond to feed the hungry ducks! My hands stay cosy and warm while I break up our super-seedy bread into little pieces, without getting crumbs permanently impregnated into the yarn. Result!

The mitts were made for Simply Crochet magazine, issue 28, to demonstrate how to work foundation double crochet and treble crochet rows – although you can easily make them without knowing the technique.

I think I might make some more pairs as Christmas gifts – now that’s thinking ahead!

Fingerless mittens

Fingerless mittens

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 4, 2015 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
