RSS

Patchwork & quilting

08 Dec

Every now and then, it’s good to immerse yourself in a new craft – it refreshes your creative energy, which is a good thing for all your crafts. I’ve recently thrown myself into the world of patchwork and quilting, thanks to my good friend Alice and her magazine, Love Patchwork & Quilting.

Love Patchwork & Quilting issue 15

Love Patchwork & Quilting issue 15

As you’ll know, I already love sewing and fabric, but I’ve not really done much patchwork or quilting – I once made a patchwork baby blanket, but it was just plain squares and I didn’t quilt it.

Anyway, it’s been a great way to flex my creative muscle, enthusing about gorgeous fabrics and beautiful projects. And I’ve learnt so much about different patchwork techniques and designs, how to quilt, simple ways to piece together triangles and other shapes, and English paper piecing (EPP). There are also some great ideas for using up scraps, which I have plenty of from my other sewing projects.

I’ve only worked on two issues so far (issue 15, above, and issue 16, below), but it’s so much fun!

Love Patchwork & Quilting issue 16

Love Patchwork & Quilting issue 16

My head is literally buzzing with ideas – no really, you can hear it whirring! 🙂 So I’m really looking forward to the festive break (I have 2 whole weeks off!) when I can put some of those ideas into crafty practice. The only trouble is deciding which idea to work on first…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 8, 2014 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
