RSS

More bedroom crafts

05 Oct

Having finished our shiny new bedroom through our DIY efforts, my attention has turned to crafty pursuits to personalise our new space.

We made our own headboard, using a piece of MDF, a spare duvet, a staple gun and a piece of faux suede fabric in dusky green. We’d never done anything like it before, but we figured it out and it looks great – and it’s v comfy for leaning against.

Bedroom headboard

Bedroom headboard

I used some of the fabric off-cuts and spare ribbon to make some thin strips to hang from the new wardrobe’s pull-out hook device (thanks Ikea!) – I’m now using the strips to hang up my earrings and brooches, which makes deciding what to wear much more fun!

Bedroom earrings store

Bedroom earrings store

Bedroom earrings store close-up

Bedroom earrings store close-up

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are still a few things left for me/us to craft though. I need to make mats for everything on our windowsill, to prevent my beautiful new paintwork from being ruined. For now, I’m improvising with whatever I can find around the house – yes, this is an oven mitt…

Bedroom temporary plant mat

Bedroom temporary plant mat

I also need to buy or craft a lamp for my bedside table – we used to have some fairylights strung up above the bed, but they’re not really compatible with the new headboard. So for now I’ve made a make-shift lamp using the fairylights and a spare vase. It’s not terrible, but it’s not quite right either…

Bedroom lamp

Bedroom lamp

Some of these little extras might not be finished yet, but my favourite ‘extra’ is finished and is taking pride of place on the bed – yes, it’s my soft, colourful, gorgeous rainbow granny blanket… (now all I need is some cold weather!)

Bedroom granny blanket

Bedroom granny blanket

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 5, 2014 in Crochet, Other Crafts, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
