RSS

Buttoned up

11 Jun

I’ve just come back from our annual week’s holiday to the beautiful seaside town of St Ives in Cornwall. If you’ve never been, you really are missing out. Here’s just one of the many lovely photos we took of the town, on one of our many walks:

St Ives © Becky Skuse

St Ives © Becky Skuse

As well as beautiful views, friendly people, delicious food and great galleries, there are also some lovely crafty shops and other tempting goodies, which I spent far too much money on!

Unfortunately, my two favourite shops have closed down or moved out of the town: the bead shop (G J Beads) and vintage store Beaten Green.

However, there’s still a knitting shop (House of Bartlett), two stained glass galleries (including Jo Downs and Desiree Hope), a vintage tea room, and Poppy Treffry now has her own shop.

One of my best buys was not in any of these places though, it was in one of the gift shops…

Button earrings

Button earrings

Yes, it’s a pair of button earrings! I grinned from ear to ear when I saw them, and happily handed over a mere £2 to have them. I’ve already had several compliments on them and am now bursting with ideas for making jewellery using buttons.

I think it must be fate though, because only a few weeks ago, I joked to the gorgeous Becca (at Knit Happens) that we should start a button club and meet to compare our button stashes and undertake creative button-related challenges. We both had a good giggle, but since then, EVERYTHING has been coming up buttons!

I think it’s the universe’s way of telling me to get buttoned up… and who am I to argue?

So, button club anyone? Who’s in?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2014 in Beading, Crochet, Embroidery, Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Buttoned up

Leave a Reply

 
