RSS

Tough Cookie

11 May

Are you sitting down? The aww-factor of my latest make is off the scale:

Cookie bear sitting

Cookie bear sitting

This little guy is the brain child of Mei Li Lee of amigurumei.com and he comes from her pattern for Yako-chan.

This is actually my first amigurumi make (amigurumi is Japanese for crocheted toy). I love Mei’s designs and this chap was just irresistible – I’ve named him Cookie.

His construction is really clever because both his arms and legs are pose-able. This means that Cookie can wave:

Cookie bear waving

Cookie bear waving

And he can also stand up:

Cookie bear standing

Cookie bear standing

As with all toys though, it’s his face that really brings him to life – I used brads for his eyes and cheeks, and little embroidery stitches for his nose and mouth. In fact, it took me about 20 goes before I got the embroidery just right! (It was worth it.)

Cookie bear mouth 1

Cookie bear mouth

Among the handful of people who have met Cookie so far though, it’s the ears that have been most commented on! They are very cute…

Cookie bear ear 1

Cookie bear ear

Given his cuteness and pose-ability, I’m wondering whether there might be some stop-motion adventures in store for him in the future… if he stays still long enough!

Cookie bear back

Come back, Cookie bear!

Anyway, if you’d like to make your own adorable little bear like Cookie, the pattern for him was featured in issue 8 of Simply Crochet, but it’s also includes in a new bookazine that’s on sale now – it’s called Hand Made Toys and you can find out more about it here.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Tough Cookie

  1. Jenny May Forsyth

    May 11, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Awwwwwww, indeed. I really want to try amigurumi but I have a feeling I might become addicted and it will take over my life (I’d do amigurumi cats, natch)!!!!

     
  2. Sanderella's Crochet

    May 11, 2014 at 4:00 pm

    So adorable!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
