RSS

Knitted teddy

27 Apr

Making teddy bears is one of my favourite crafty projects – I’ve sewn them (see this bear), knitted loads of them and I’m currently working on a crocheted bear (I’ll post again as soon as he’s finished).

I’d never made any toys or teddy bears before 2009. That was the year my eldest niece Jenny was born. At the time, I was working for a knitting magazine in Bristol and a few months before she arrived into the world, we had an adorable teddy bear pattern in the magazine – as soon as I saw it, I just knew I had to make him for our special little unborn baby.

Jenny's teddy

Jenny’s teddy

She still has this teddy (although he’s a little worse for wear nowadays!) and she called him ‘Eddy Teddy’. Making this teddy sparked a wave of knitting teddies for people and I can’t remember how many I made!

Of course, I made another teddy just like Eddy, for my youngest niece, Beth, and she called him Jacob. Although he wasn’t the original, special teddy, there were a vast number of improvements made for the mark 2 version (since I’d learned so much in the meantime) so he’s standing the test of time much better!

Anyway, I’m reminded of all this because I recently found some photos of Eddy Teddy from 2009, which I thought I’d lost. Back then, I didn’t often take photos of my makes, but because he was so special, I asked my photographer other half Jonny to take some photos of Eddy Teddy. This is what he emailed to me:

Photoshoot is going well… wait, I'm not done yet!

Photoshoot is going well… wait, I’m not done yet!

Where are you off to, little bear?

Where are you off to, little bear?

No, stop!

No, stop!

Bye! I'm really sorry, he was too fast… At least we have the photos.

Bye! Sorry, he was too fast… At least we have the photos.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 27, 2014 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
