RSS

Knitted slippers

02 Apr

With the weather getting warmer, it might seem like an odd time to be making slippers. But my feet seem to get cold throughout the year, so I can never have too many pairs of slippers!

I’ve knitted plenty of baby bootees in my time, and I have a fool-proof pattern by Debbie Bliss that I use. I recently had a thought that if I used the same pattern (intended for DK yarn), but with a chunky yarn, I might be able to make a bootee big enough to fit my size fives.

It worked a treat!

Knitted slipper © Becky Skuse

Knitted slipper © Becky Skuse

I’m really busy with crochet work at the moment, so I’ve only had time to make one bootee so far. But it’s lovely and cosy and stretchy. Now I just need to sew some fabric to the bottoms to make them a bit more hard-wearing. Oh, and make the second one.

Then I’d like to see if I can adapt the pattern into crochet…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 2, 2014 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
