RSS

My special friend

04 Mar

My lovely little cat passed away last week. Audrey wasn’t just my pusskins though, she was my special friend and my companion. She was about 15 years old and had been with me for around 11 years. She had a tough life before coming to live with me, having been treated poorly and taken in by the PDSA. But she loved our little home and being the focus of all our love and attention.

It’s hard to write about just how much she meant to me, so instead, I’ll share some photos. Here is my favourite portrait of her posing for Jonny, about 9 years ago:

Audrey portrait

Audrey portrait

Below is the crochet blanket that I made for her, when I realised she wasn’t going to make it. It’s just a simple granny square blanket with double (single) crochet edging. We placed it on top of her little body, to keep her warm forever, before burying her.

Crochet blanket

Crochet blanket

Below are the flowers my mum bought for us on the day she passed away. On top of the blanket, we placed one of the yellow roses to symbolise joy and friendship, plus one of the pink carnations to symbolise love and remembrance.

Flowers

Yellow roses and pink carnations

Saying goodbye was very hard, and living in an empty house without her is even harder. But it helps to have photos of her (like the one below), which can’t help but make you smile.

Hiding in a box

Hiding in a box in the kitchen cupboard

She hid in this box in the kitchen cupboard for ages before I found her! Remembering the joy she brought us does help and she did plenty of adorably funny things. Here’s my top five:

1 She liked to drink water from a tall glass, dipping her paw in the water and then licking her paw.
2 She liked to go outside in the rain, so that when she came in, I’d dry her off with paper towels. Then she’d go straight back outside!
3 She’d come inside through the cat flap and announce her return with loud meows, until she found us.
4 She’d sit in the window watching the street, and if she saw any dogs, she’d growl at them like a dog!
5 She liked to give nose kisses, rubbing her nose on your nose.

We’ll never forget her.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2014 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My special friend

  1. Sanderella's Crochet

    March 5, 2014 at 12:47 am

    Oh, I am so very sorry to hear of your beloved loss, my thoughts and prayers are with you this evening. I know exactly how you are feeling as I have lost my little companions as well, and it is such a helpless empty feeling.I have two cats now, Rose is about 8-10 yrs. old, a rescue kitty, and Romeo is 5 yrs. old. Hugs, Sandy

     
    • Becky Skuse

      March 5, 2014 at 9:29 pm

      Thank you Sandy, that’s very kind. The emptiness is easing slowly. Take care x

       
      • Sanderella's Crochet

        March 5, 2014 at 11:11 pm

        Your welcome, and you take care as well. Sandy

         

Leave a Reply

 
