RSS

Sewing bug

19 Feb

Here in the UK, the new series of The Great British Sewing Bee started last night and already, it’s promising to be a cracking series full of creative sewists and quirky characters!

Not only that, it’s reinvigorated my own sewing enthusiasm…

One of the challenges in the first show was to restyle a plain, grey skirt. Some of the ideas were fantastic – there were ruffles, pockets, trims, peplums, godets. So creative.

It’s made me look again at a pile of clothes I’ve got on my sewing shelf – these are items that no longer fit me or have threadbare patches, but they were once so beloved that I can’t bear to just throw them away.

Some people might call this sort of behaviour hoarding, but I like to think of it as a ‘waste not, want not’ attitude (a phrase I heard repeatedly from my thrifty parents growing up).

For better or worse, I’ve kept them, and promised myself that I’ll refashion them into something else. With that in mind, I’ve pulled out two of my old favourites from the pile, to present to you, and ask: do you have any bright ideas for how to refashion them?

Rebel top

Rebel top

Both of these tops were in regular circulation in my wardrobe when I was in my late teens and early twenties, and they have a certain youthful cheekiness!

Supergirl top

Supergirl top

You can see that the Supergirl top is a little stained in places (nice!) from where it’s been so well worn, so these areas will need to be snipped off.

I’ve been trying to think of something that I can make with them, which will keep the nostalgic essence of the original item, while also being useful to me now.

A bag is the best idea I’ve had.

If you have any better ideas, please comment below, and I’ll let you know which restyle I go for…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 19, 2014 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Sewing bug

  1. lizard100

    March 1, 2014 at 10:11 pm

    What about cushions? It could be possible depending on the stain badness. The fabric would be soft and maybe better than a bag which would stretch. But when I made a bag from a t shirt I used a method where you line it completely with duct tape. It stopped the stretch and made it tough.

     

Leave a Reply

 
