RSS

Hearts

27 Nov

They’re such pretty shapes, I’ve always liked hearts. Just drawing them makes me smile. Then colouring them in is so much fun. I’m always amazed how different shapes and colours of hearts can change the emotion that they convey. Here are a few that I just drew:

Heart shapes

Heart shapes

My favourite is the wide heart, in magenta. Although the dark, deep red shade is gorgeously intense.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about hearts recently in my crafting. I was inspired by a secret little treasure that I rediscovered recently. I’d forgotten all about this heart:

Shiny heart

My heart

The heart shape was originally the fancy packaging for some chocolates – the two plastic halves pull apart and the chocolates were stored inside, wrapped in red foil. At the top is a little hole in both halves, and there’s a little fabric rose that slots into the hole.

After the chocolates were eaten, I wanted to craft the little heart into something special that I could keep. So I flattened out some of the red foil wrappers that the chocolates came in, and used them to line the heart shape on the inside. The trickiest part was getting the two halves to close without creasing the foil.

Anyway, I kept this little heart for years, just gathering dust… And then I met Jonny.

I gave him this heart, and my actual heart, 10 years ago this week. (I recently discovered that he keeps it under the bed!)

I wanted to mark our special occasion by crafting another heart…

A few months ago, when we were having a clear out, he found some thick wire that he didn’t need anymore, which I pounced on for my craft stash.

With biceps at the ready, I bent a length of the wire into a heart shape, and glued and taped the ends together. Then I found some suitably pink yarn and worked around the heart in double crochet (single crochet in the US). The yarn was DK weight, but I had to use a 2.5mm hook to get the stitches close enough to cover the wire completely.

Wire crochet heart

Wire crochet heart

I’ve never done anything like this before so I’m really pleased with it. Jonny liked it too.

Yes, it’s a little bit wonky and a little bit plain, but no one’s heart is perfect 🙂

Wire crochet heart closeup

Wire crochet heart closeup

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 27, 2013 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Hearts

Leave a Reply

 
