RSS

Peg bag fun

07 Aug

As crafters, we often get special requests. I find these are often some of the most fun projects, because I know that the item I’m spending time and effort to make is going to be treasured.

I recently had a request for a new peg bag from my aunty, and it was a pleasure making it for her. Her old peg bag was falling apart and a little weather-worn:

Old peg bag © Becky Skuse

Old peg bag © Becky Skuse

The first thing you need to make a peg bag is a hanger. So I cut the hanger out of her old peg bag.

Hanger for peg bag © Becky Skuse

Hanger for peg bag © Becky Skuse

I was surprised at just how charming this little wooden hanger is, and I tried to figure out a way to make a peg bag that didn’t cover it up completely. That proved to be impossible for my little brain, so instead, I chose a fabric from my stash that would really complement the hanger. It’s called Aqua Blossom Clusters from the Revive Collection by Pat Bravo, for Art Gallery Fabrics. Here’s the finished bag:

New peg bag © Becky Skuse

New peg bag © Becky Skuse

I topstitched around the edges with a pretty yellow cotton, which would also help make the seams stronger. And I left a small gap on the right-hand side so that the hanger can come out and the whole thing can be put in the washing machine.

I gave it to my aunty as a birthday present and she loved it!

Peg bag close-up © Becky Skuse

Peg bag close-up © Becky Skuse

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 7, 2013 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Peg bag fun

Leave a Reply

 
