RSS

Crochet rainbow

19 Jun

If you’ve been reading my blog lately, you’ll have noticed that I’ve become a little bit obsessed with crocheting Granny Squares in blocks of colour.

Well, having worked my way through a rainbow of colours, I’ve stopped at ten different shades – seems like a good number for a blanket.

There were certain colours that utterly mesmerised me – the light green and the turquoise were so beautiful and calming; the deep pink was mouthwateringly gorgeous; and I swear the yellow one smelled of sherbet… or maybe it was custard…

Anyway, with some of the colours, I’d been unable to stop at just one square – I’d made three! As a compulsive organiser who craves order, balance and neatness, I then had to make sure there were an equal three for each colour. I’m still quite a slow crocheter, so that took a while…

With the last one made and the hook put aside for now, I allowed myself a little time to enjoy the rainbow of colours I’d created…

Granny square rainbow © Becky Skuse

Granny square rainbow © Becky Skuse

I love how each colour seems to merge into the next one, and yet each colour has its own look and evokes a different sort of feel.

Then I noticed that the dark pink on the right looks very close to the red on the left, so I rearranged the squares…

Granny square ring © Becky Skuse

Granny square ring © Becky Skuse

Arranged in a circle, the graduation is even more noticeable. So much of life seems to repeat itself in a circular, cyclical way – colour is just the same. I suppose I already knew this from my school science lessons, but I like that I’ve brought that idea to life and created my own circle of crochet colour…

Granny square circle © Becky Skuse

Granny square circle © Becky Skuse

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 19, 2013 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Crochet rainbow

  1. Lucy Turner-Longmire

    August 4, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    This is beautiful! I love the colors! I hope you share the finished project…I would love to see it.

     
  2. Ruth Lind Judkins Wright

    August 4, 2013 at 4:39 pm

    The colors are just fabulous! What kind of yarn and where did you find them? I’m having trouble finding yarn with those beautiful colors and would love to make a rainbow of grannnies like this!!

     
    • Becky Skuse

      August 5, 2013 at 2:45 pm

      Hi Ruth, so glad you like the squares! The yarn I used is some random balls of Sublime Cashmere Merino Silk DK and also Sublime Extra Fine Merino Wool DK. Some of them are a few years old, so some of the colours might be discontinued now, but the current range has some gorgeous shades! I’m still working on making squares but eventually they will become a blanket, and I promise to share here. Thanks! Becky x

       
  3. Mim McDonald (@crinolinerobot)

    June 19, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    Are you going to sew them up? How will you decide what configuration to put them in?

     
    • Becky Skuse

      June 19, 2013 at 10:41 pm

      I’m not totally certain yet, but I’ve got some really soft, off-white yarn that I thought would look nice in between the squares, to join them all together. I’ll keep you posted… x

       

Leave a Reply

 
