RSS

Old socks: new life

01 May

Many crafters are accused of being hoarders. I like to think it’s our special ability to see the usefulness in things that others see as rubbish.

Just the other day, I was called a hoarder for saving perfectly good sticky notes that had only been used as bookmarks. They had plenty of sticky left and had never been written on. What’s wrong with saving them from the bin?!

Anyway, even I thought I’d gone a bit far when we had a clearout about a year ago. Me and my other half both had holey old socks and tights to get rid of, but once they were piled up, I couldn’t bear to bin them.

Old socks

Old socks

“I could use them to stuff one of my makes,” I heard myself say persuasively. I was convinced. So I popped them in a bag and stored them with my proper toy stuffing.

About a year on and I still hadn’t used them. It was about the same time that I noticed my cat’s little bed had gotten a bit shabby and needed replacing.

Blam! The idea hit me like a batman punch. Make a cat bed stuffed with old socks! So here it is:

Pet bed © Becky Skuse

Pet bed © Becky Skuse

As you can see, my 15-year-old gorgeous little beauti-cat instantly loved it. In fact, she barely got out of it for three days. We thought she was ill. (She wasn’t, she just liked it a lot.)

It was very easy to make. I cut two circles of cosy, fluffy fabric and sewed them together around the outside, leaving a turning gap. After turning, I stuffed it with about half the socks and sewed up the gap. Then I cut a long strip of the fabric, folded it in half along the entire length, and sewed along the long open side. After turning, I stuffed it with the rest of the socks through the two open sides and then hand stitched the long tube to the circle. Once everything was in place, I trimmed off the ends of the tube I didn’t need and stitched them closed. That’s it!

The cat loves it and now I feel totally justified in hoarding, I mean saving, other useful items from the bin…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2013 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Old socks: new life

  1. Mim McDonald (@crinolinerobot)

    May 3, 2013 at 11:15 am

    You have a gorgeous cat – she deserves a nice bed! I save old clothes to turn into other stuff too – recycling FTW.

     
  2. Beate ( Bay-Ott-Tay)

    May 2, 2013 at 9:29 am

    My kind of project!!! Recycle smartly!

     
  3. crazykitsy

    May 1, 2013 at 8:53 pm

    Wow – great idea!
    I love recycling.

     

Leave a Reply

 
