RSS

Hug Me

23 Jan

Children are given so many toys, especially nowadays. And yet, most tend to have a particular favourite that they cherish over all the others. When I was a child, my absolute favourite toy was my teddy called ‘Hug Me’.

We were having a clear out in the attic recently and I found him! He’s a little bit battered (and stained), but even so, just one look at him brought back so many happy memories and made me feel all warm and gooey.

Here he is:

Hug Me

Hug Me

His neck needs a bit of sewing up, but this has always been a particularly fragile area – I remember my mum sewing up his neck several times, which was quite traumatic because it meant being without him overnight!

He was called ‘Hug Me’ for obvious reasons (the writing on his little sailor T-shirt) and he was a gift from my cousin Sally Anne when I was born, so I don’t remember a time when he wasn’t with me. I think she may have made him from a kit or in a special class at school – she was quite young herself when she made it (maybe 8 or 9) so he’s far from being symmetric, but I always liked that he wasn’t perfect.

He’s made of a very smooth cotton fabric, which feels cool when you first touch it, but gets warm and snuggly after hugging him for a while. And that’s mostly what I remember doing with him – hugging him and carrying him around with me, his head gently resting on my shoulder (maybe that’s why his neck was so fragile?).

It’s amazing to think just how much I loved this little teddy, and even more surprising for me is that my love for him hasn’t faded – he still means so much to me.

I’ve decided that he’s not going back in the attic – instead, I’ve given him a special place to sit in my craft room, so he can watch what I’m doing. Maybe… hopefully… he’ll help me while I’m crafting little teddies and other creatures for my nieces and other children in the family, who might love these teddies as much as I’ve loved Hug Me…

Do you have a story to share about your favourite childhood toy?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Hug Me

  1. Mim McDonald (@crinolinerobot)

    January 26, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    I still have my favourite one-armed bear. He’s a bit bald now – I keep thinking of making him a special outfit!

     

Leave a Reply

 
