RSS

Flower neckwarmer

21 Jan

Oh I’m so excited! One of my favourite makes ever is in this month’s issue of Sewing World (February).

It’s this flower neckwarmer…

Flower scarf © Becky Skuse

Flower scarf © Becky Skuse

As you can see from the lovely pics of me modelling it (!), it can be worn as a scarf (it’s surprisingly warm) under a coat and/or as a necklace over a plain top.

I’m very happy that it’s ‘out there’ in the world, for other people to make, but what I’m most excited about is the fact that I’ve got it back and can wear it!

It was a labour of love to make because each flower takes a while to sew up, and then stitching them together took even longer (mostly because I kept changing my mind about the arrangement!). I wish I’d had my new bust model when I was trying to come up with a pleasing layout…

Anyway, I’m glad I put in so much time and effort though, because I’m really pleased with it and couldn’t wait to get it back so I could start wearing it, which I’ve been doing a lot (probably too much!).

I find the combination of colours really cheering, and the ruffly flowers feel so feminine – it’s the perfect thing for brightening up a grey (or snowy!) day.

For a tutorial on how to make the flowers, head here, or you can buy the pattern here.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 21, 2013 in Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Flower neckwarmer

  1. jonathanochart

    January 21, 2013 at 2:58 pm

    That does look like a “labour of love”…what a smart scarf! It has so much personality, yet it’s still a utility piece and keeps the wearer warm, yet stylish. Thanks for sharing!

    – Jonathan I http://styleoverstress.wordpress.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
