RSS

Gift making

31 Oct

It’s that time of year again when my crafty thoughts turn to Christmas and making gifts for friends and family.

I also happen to have lots of family birthdays in November and December, so I tend to start my gift making in late September and keep going right up to Christmas!

To start with, I made this for my niece Jenny, for her third birthday:

Knitted headband © Becky Skuse

She loves the colour pink, and this yarn just cried out to be made into something girlie for her.

I’ve also made these sweet little slippers:

Knitted slippers © Becky Skuse

I’ve not yet decided who might get these in their Christmas stocking…

Last but not least, I always try to make something for the guys. Every year, this is a bit of a challenge, but I recently stumbled across a brilliant pattern for a scarf made out of narrow knitted strips, plaited together, like this one I’ve just made:

Plaited scarf © Becky Skuse

I think the idea is brilliant for using up spare ends of yarn and the finished look is uniquely handmade, which is pretty much the idea for crafty gifts!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 31, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
