RSS

Holidays

26 Sep

It’s been almost two weeks since my last post, but that’s not because I’ve had nothing crafty to say – it’s because I’ve been on holiday. A week away in Cornwall was just what the doctor ordered, for relaxation, recuperation and also for getting my crafty juices flowing again. In fact, I have so much to blog about now, I don’t know where to start!

Let’s start with some of the amazing scenery that we enjoyed in beautiful St Ives.

St Ives scenery © Rebecca Skuse

Walking along the harbour front or paddling on Porthmeor beach is almost guaranteed to make you feel relaxed. On one of many walks along the harbour front, we noticed some brightly coloured bunting and with delight, I realised it was knitted!

Knitted bunting

I’m a big fan of yarn bombing and the way it brings colour, texture and LIFE to the typically drab, cement-slathered landscape. It was so cheerful, it’s really got the crafty cogs in my brain moving… some yarn bombing campaigns may be on the horizon…

Going to St Ives gave me the chance to return to my favourite vintage shop, Beaten Green. The first time we went, I vowed only to look round and not buy anything… but I failed! They have some gorgeous vintage fabrics and I saw this one and just had to have it:

Vintage fabric from Beaten Green

They also sell lengths of trim and lace, and I think these lengths of delicate blue lace will be perfect for making a bridal garter for my cousin’s fiancee:

Blue lace

While I was there, I also spied some lovely bags, with the tag of Ulster Weavers – a textiles company set up in the 19th century that I’d come across once when writing a feature. The difficult thing was deciding on which one to buy, but eventually I went for the pink, girly one:

Ulster Weavers bag

As if that wasn’t enough crafty temptation, there’s also a gorgeous bead shop along the harbour front, G J Beads. I’ve been spending at least £20 on every visit there ever since it opened! And this trip was no different – here are the gorgeous bits and bobs I bought this time:

Gorgeous beads

So now I’m relaxed, I have plenty of inspiration and also lots of raw materials that I can craft with… it was a true crafty holiday!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 26, 2012 in Beading, Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Holidays

Leave a Reply

 
