RSS

What a super man

15 Aug

Dads don’t often get a mention on craft blogs, so I thought it was about time mine got a mention.

A lot of my makes are for my nieces, myself or female friends and family. So this year, for Father’s Day, I wanted to make something for my dear old dad (he’s not that old, he’s not even 60 yet, although he does wear a vest now).

It’s not easy to think of a handmade gift idea for a man – they seem to have such simple needs and few of them involve knitted, sewn, crocheted, cross stitched, beaded or papercrafted gifts!

After some deliberation, I decided to keep things simple, because he’s simple – I mean, straightforward… So I got a basic black T-shirt in his size (from my stash of old, but clean, clothes waiting to be upcycled into new clothes) and embellished it with some fabric motifs.

Now, the fabric I used is very special. It’s vintage Superman fabric, from 1978, which I fell in love with and bought last year from Beaten Green vintage boutique in one of my favourite places, St Ives, Cornwall.

I’d been saving it to make something special for my manfriend (he’s not a boy, he’s 38), but there was plenty there that I could afford to cut off a couple of motifs to embellish the T-shirt.

So I cut out the ‘Superman’ logo for the front, one of the Superman figures for the back, and then the copyright line to decorate one of the sleeves. I sewed them on using a wide zigzag stitch and red cotton thread to match the Superman colours.

My dad seemed surprised and happy with the T-shirt, saying that it was “cool and unique”. I think exactly the same could be said about him!

Here he is modelling the T-shirt for me this week:

My Superman dad (doing a Usain Bolt)

 

My superman dad modelling his superman T-shirt

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 15, 2012 in Sewing

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “What a super man

  1. Jenny May Forsyth

    August 16, 2012 at 7:20 am

    Does it give him the ability to fly and lift cars with his pinkie?

     
    • Becky Skuse

      August 16, 2012 at 1:48 pm

      Yes! But only if they’re baby toy cars and only flying for a few seconds (commonly known as jumping).

       

Leave a Reply

 
