RSS

Meet Mrs Bunny

08 Aug

To most people, Mrs Bunny is just a doorstop who lives at my gran’s house. But to my niece, Jenny, Mrs Bunny has always been a fascinating play thing.

She first spotted Mrs Bunny when she was learning to walk, and even though she could barely hold herself up, she was determine to lift, or drag, a very heavy Mrs Bunny into the front room so that she could play with her.

From then on, whenever she visited my gran’s house, she’d have to go and find Mrs Bunny and carry her away from her duties holding open the kitchen or dining room door.

For Jenny, the most fascinating thing about Mrs Bunny was her shopping, a simple little crocheted basket stuffed with scraps of yarn – my gran says the shopping basket came with the doorstop, which was given to her by her aunty (so Mrs Bunny must have seen a lot of doors in her time).

In her short three years, Jenny has played with Mrs Bunny’s shopping so much that it was starting to fall apart. So, confident in my new crochet skills, I offered to make Mrs Bunny some new shopping.

After a quick rummage in my yarn scraps bag, I found some nice denim blue yarn. I wanted to make the new shopping in a similar style to the old shopping, so I also used some light blue yarn to make a stripe near the top of the basket.

It was so quick to make that I also took the chance to practise some new crochet skills, by combining stitches of different heights (slip stitches, doubles and trebles) around the top of the basket to make two tapered sides that would lead into the simple chained straps. I think it works really well.

Here’s Mrs Bunny with her new shopping…

Mrs Bunny with her shopping

My final challenge was the stuffing. I considered making little crocheted pieces of fruit or veg, or bread or milk, as if she really had been shopping. But my crochet skills aren’t up to that yet! And there’s the obvious choking hazard with young children who might think it’s real food. So instead, I popped the rest of the blue yarn inside the shopping basket and that filled it out perfectly. If you have any great ideas for what to stuff the shopping basket with, do let me know.

In the picture, you can see that on the floor is her old, slightly tatty shopping – now that I look at it again, it seems a bit like she’s thrown the old shopping basket onto the floor in disgust! Well, it was falling apart and Mrs Bunny is a busy lady with a lot of shopping to do, doors to hold open and small children to entertain…

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2012 in Crochet

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Meet Mrs Bunny

  1. Mim McDonald (@crinolinerobot)

    August 9, 2012 at 9:17 am

    What a lovely project! And the new basket looks perfect.

     
  2. Jenny May Forsyth

    August 9, 2012 at 8:40 am

    Gorgeous! What was Jenny’s reaction?

     
    • Becky Skuse

      August 16, 2012 at 1:50 pm

      She was a tiny bit confused as to why the shopping basket had changed colour! But her first impulse was to remove the contents of the shopping basket and put her little fingers inside it instead!

       

Leave a Reply

 
