RSS

Crochet beginnings

30 Jul

My recent work on Simply Crochet magazine has inspired me to start crocheting. It’s also led lots of crafty friends to ask me, what’s the best way to start crocheting?

My usual recommendation is to get any hook and any yarn, some crochet instructions and just play!

Once you’ve practised the main stitches and techniques, make something simple. For me, I made something small and simple, but practical – the one thing all my makes have in common is that they all have some sort of practical function.

My simple make was this tissue wrap, using cotton DK yarn, so I always have tissues in my handbag:

Crochet tissue wrap

As you can see in the pictures, it’s just a rectangular piece of crocheted fabric, with a button and a short chain to act as a buttonhole. You simply place the folded up tissues on the rectangle, fold the sides over and button it up.

With this project, I got to practise chains, turning chains, doubles, trebles and the all-important counting! I’m not ashamed to say I messed up the stitch count on some if the rows, but after a while I got the hang if it, which you can probably see in the slightly wavy shape! More than anything, the stitch count is the most important thing to get right, to make sure your piece turns out how it should!

The next skill I wanted to master was working in the round, since so many crochet items are made this way and it’s supposed to be simple…

So I made another item for my handbag, a mobile phone cosy. I used the same cotton DK yarn as before, which incidentally makes it much easier to find in a dark handbag!

Crochet mobile cosy

I started with a foundation chain that was as wide as the lower width of the phone. Then I just worked doubles along both sides of the foundation chain, until I reached the first dc. A quick slipstitch later and I had crocheted my first round!

I continued round in dc for a while and then got impatient and changed to treble, which meant it grew much faster! I finished off with more rounds of dc to make it even and then dc’d a narrow strip for the buttonhole flap.

It’s the perfect size for my mobile, although I admit that I did check several times as I went along, just in case!

Some more crochet projects are in the works but I’m feeling much more confident I’ll be able to work them with ease… What was your first crochet project? Or have you yet to hook something?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 30, 2012 in Crochet

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Crochet beginnings

  1. veldagia

    August 7, 2012 at 10:43 am

    My first completed project was the papillion scarf (a gift for my mum to say thanks for teaching me the crochet basics) followed by a few simple crochet hats. Mobile cozys/purses/camera covers were amongst my first projects – they are quick to do and great for practicing stitches and using up yarn scraps.

     

Leave a Reply

 
