RSS

Crafts that travel

30 May

One of the things I love about crafts is their portability. That makes them perfect for taking away on your travels, which I did recently when I went to Paris.

My travel craft of choice is usually knitting, although I’m becoming a big fan of crochet as well. For my Paris trip, I packed up a ball of DK yarn, some 4mm needles, and a few flowery ideas. Unfortunately, the train journey was so bumpy that knitting was very difficult and made me feel queasy! So that was that.

Most journeys aren’t that bumpy (thank goodness!) so on a long train journey or flight you can create something really great while everyone else is wasting their time!

Of course, many of us take projects away to enjoy as part of the holiday, and I love knitting little things on the beach or by the pool.

Some of the best craft projects to take on holiday are ones that capture the place you’re visiting, so that’s why I think cross stitch kits make some of the best travel projects.

So I was very happy recently when Cross Stitch Collection allowed me to put together a travel cross stitch feature for them.

Cross Stitch Collection 210 Travel feature

From the Statue of Liberty to the Taj Mahal, there are loads of designs around that can capture a memorable holiday. This feature is in issue 210 (out now).

After my holiday to Paris, the Eiffel Tower bookmark is top of my list to make!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 30, 2012 in Crochet, Cross stitch, Knitting

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
