RSS

Bad blogger, good crafter

19 May

What a crazy month May has been! There’s been birthdays, weekends away, features to write, things to make, a special crochet bookazine to do…

All this adds up to being a bad blogger! I’m just half an hour away from leaving for a 5-day holiday to Paris (!), so this blog will be a brief update on what I’ve been up to.

First of all, there was the inspiring feature I wrote for The Knitter about Community Knitting projects around the world, which was in issue 43:

Community Knitting Projects feature, from The Knitter issue 43

Then there was the feature I wrote for Cross Stitch Collection, issue 209, about the various designs available to commemorate the London 2012 Olympics:

Cross Stitch Collection 209 Olympics feature

For things to make, my sewn version of the baker boy hat (which I blogged about here) is out now in the latest issue of Sewing World.

There’s also been the crochet bookazine I’ve worked on (but that’s still a bit secret for now), which has inspired me to make a couple of crocheted items to tidy up my handbag – a mobile phone cosy and a tissue holder in pretty pastel pink! (Cara, you’d be proud!)

Plus, my gran has now read my blog posts (I had to print it all out for her though because she doesn’t use ‘blasted’ computers!) and loved it all – in fact, she started reading one evening last week and couldn’t put it down. She said she was up until midnight reading it all!

If you remember this blog post (where I mentioned the chunky gold chain of my gran’s that I used to play with as a child), you’ll be pleased to hear that my gran has found the old chain and given it to me as a gift!

Gold chain

I was so touched – it’s only costume jewellery but it was her mother’s, so it means a lot to her. But she said she wanted me to have it because it means a lot to me and she knows I’ll look after it, which I definitely will.

So I hope you’ll agree that I may have been a bad blogger in May, but that’s because I’ve been too busy being a good crafter. Au revoir mon ami!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2012 in Crochet, Cross stitch, Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Bad blogger, good crafter

  1. Astromermaid

    June 2, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    You’re not as bad a blogger as I am – I’ve created the ‘blasted’ thing but haven’t found time to actually blog yet! x

     
  2. Mim McDonald (@crinolinerobot)

    May 21, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    Sometimes blogging has to go to the wall when there’s work to be done – I was a very bad blogger in the last week of April. But seeing all those lovely magazine pages, no-one could say you’ve been wasting time!

     
    • Becky Skuse

      May 21, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      Thanks Mim! It’s great once it’s all over and you can look through final pages and be proud. Making Simply Crochet has definitely been worth being a bad blogger for a few weeks! x

       

Leave a Reply

 
