RSS

I need a heroine

25 Apr

I recently heard about the Knitting & Crochet blog week while browsing the internet for inspiring crochet items. I stumbled across Eskimimi Makes and loved the idea of having a week of collective blogging.

Unfortunately, life (meaning work!) has gotten in the way of partaking in the first few days (and probably the rest of the week), but today’s topic is knitting or crochet heroes, so I just had to blog about my knitting hero, well, heroine: my gran.

She patiently taught me to knit when I was a child, encouraging me to have fun with different colours and different yarns. I have really clear memories of watching her knitting at what seemed like the speed of light! I was mesmerised by the gentle click-clack of the needles and the intense look of concentration on her face. She’d occasionally catch me watching her and give me a cheeky smile, just like this…

My knitting heroine: my gran

I’ve written more about her here and here.

She originally planted the seed of knitting passion in me and for that, she’ll always be my knitting heroine.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in Knitting

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “I need a heroine

  1. Ruth Elizabeth Washburn

    April 26, 2012 at 1:23 am

    I enjoyed your blog. The pictures of your grandmother are very sweet. She has a warm smile.

     

Leave a Reply

 
