RSS

Cold and crochet

12 Apr

Apologies for the long delay since my last post, I managed to get a really nasty cold (featuring mammoth sore throat) and then I was playing catch-up at work.

Anyway, cold aside, the much more exciting news is the bookazine project I’ve been working on at Future Publishing – this time it’s crochet!

I learned to crochet as a child, but it was after learning to knit, which I think made it harder because I’d gotten so used to the structured, regimented nature of knitting.

I can remember making granny squares with my mum (and separately with my gran and my nan) but I’m not sure who first taught me how to do it. I know that someone else always had to start me off, doing the basic foundation loop and first round, before I could take over making the clusters of trebles round and round and round… maybe I liked the structured, regimented style of granny squares because it felt familiar.

Whoever taught me originally, I’ve always associated crochet with my nan, because she once gave me a little 3×3 square crochet blanket (which I used as a blanket for one of my teddies). It felt like a really special gift at the time (it wasn’t my birthday or anything) and so I’ve treasured it ever since. This little blanket now forms an important corner-stone of my patchwork blanket that I talk about in my first post, What came first?

So I’ve always had a fondness for crochet, as a craft I liked and knew a little bit about, but could never fully master. Over the past few months, I’ve definitely improved my crochet skills (largely thanks to some patient Thursday lunchtime tutoring by Cara Medus) and improved my overall crochet knowledge, while working on this crochet bookazine, Irresistible Gifts to Crochet volume 2 (on sale 19th April 2012 – find out more here).

Here’s a look at the cover…

Irresistible Gifts to Crochet volume 2

Having slaved over every page (!), I know that there’s something for everyone in here. If you’re a beginner (like I was when I first started working on it), there’s a great guide at the front (which was invaluable for me) and plenty of simple projects (which I practised on) that will spur you on to learn crochet. And if you’re an expert, there are loads of gorgeous, unusual projects, all handily divided up into accessories, fashion garments, treats for kids and makes for the home.

Whatever your crochet experience or pattern taste, I hope that maybe somewhere, a special nan will make a little something for her granddaughter (or grandson), which will be treasured for life.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2012 in Crochet

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
