RSS

Flower power

28 Mar

My obsession with baker boy hats has reached new heights. I’ve now made a sewn version!

If you’ve already read my Beat Surrender post, you’ll know how much I like these hats and that I designed a knitted version for Simply Knitting magazine.

Using a similar design, I’ve now made a sewn version of the hat for Sewing World magazine, using Buttercups in spearmint, from Amy Butler‘s new Soul Blossoms fabric (courtesy of the lovely people at Coats Crafts).

Summer baker boy hat

The hat pattern is very simple and perfect for summer. It keeps the sun off your head (so you won’t get a burnt scalp) and the lightweight cotton fabric means it’s breathable and won’t make you hot and sweaty! The peak is great for keeping the sun out of your eyes and it’s so quick to put together that you could whip one up in just a couple of hours. I’m now thinking about what other fabrics I can use to make it out of – maybe a thicker tartan for autumn/winter… I think it will appear in Sewing World’s June issue.

Converting the basic hat design from knitting to sewing was tricky but interesting – and it’s got me wondering… what else could be converted between the two crafts? And which way round would be easier?

I’ve also been doing a lot of crochet work recently (more on that soon), so now I’m also pondering whether I could make a crochet version of the hat next.

So many ideas, so little time…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2012 in Crochet, Knitting, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Flower power

  1. Pingback: Make me do
  2. Becky Skuse

    March 30, 2012 at 9:41 pm

    Thanks for your lovely comments. There are so many ideas in my head, but high up on the list is a sewn pair of gloves, inspired by a knitted pair – although I might wait until the winter to do that!

     
  3. Mim McDonald (@crinolinerobot)

    March 29, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Very nice hat! I love it, it’s very Mod.

     
  4. Ria

    March 28, 2012 at 6:17 pm

    That’s such a cute hat!

    There are probably a lot of knitting patterns that could easily be converted for sewing. I’ve seen numerous knitting patterns that were inspired by sewing pieces, after all, so it makes a sort of sense that it could be done the other way around. I’d love to see what else you come up with like that!

     

Leave a Reply

 
