RSS

Labour of love

01 Feb

Crafting is often a labour of love.
But the successful crafter always reminds her or his self of the satisfaction of the end result: the finished item.
It’s the exact same feeling when you’re making a magazine, or in my case recently, a bookazine.

I’ve worked in magazines pretty much since I finished uni in 2000. Future Publishing in Bath gave me my first proper job and then my first editorial job, working on Cross Stitch Collection, and I’ve fallen ever deeper in love with crafting.

Like some kind of magnet (or vortex!), I’m always drawn back to working at Future. Many of the talented people I’ve worked with over the years are still here and there are so many familiar faces that it always feels like coming home. I came home again in June 2011 and have been lucky enough to work on various bookazines for the craft division.

Since June, I’ve worked on a Christmas Cards bookazine for Papercraft Inspirations, a winter knits bookazine for Simply Knitting and an updated version of The Essential Guide to Sewing

Some of the craft bookazines I've worked on recently

I’ve happily become the go-to gal for bookazines and have considered changing my username at Future to Beckazine…

But my latest bookazine project has been a true labour of love, involving a significant amount of time, effort, sweat and tears (although thankfully, no blood!). It’s called Craft & Click and is all about how to make more of your crafting through various online activities.

Craft & Click bookazine

If you’re reading this blog then you’re already pretty web-savvy, but there’s something in the bookazine for everyone. Here are a few low-res examples to show you what’s inside…

Craft & Click has features for beginners…

There are loads of crafters who haven’t yet taken the plunge and gotten themselves on the internet (we all know at least one crafter like this!) so we wanted to create a bookazine that would help crafters to get online, explain how to use some of the best websites, and show how crafting can be enhanced by the internet.

For more advanced web-crafters (like you and me!) there’s still plenty to learn – I found out loads that I didn’t know about Facebook, Etsy, podcasts, group craft projects, and online classes you can take.

…and features for more advanced online crafters

The Craft & Click bookazine goes on sale tomorrow (2nd Feb) so please check it out and let me know what you think. You can find out how to get it here. Hope you like it!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in Cross stitch, Knitting, Papercrafts, Sewing

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Labour of love

  1. Becky Skuse

    February 6, 2012 at 3:27 pm

    Thanks for you’re comment kirstyross85 you’re totally right.
    There’s an old saying that anything worth having is always hard work and the end result is always what keeps me going!
    The bookazine is out now, in Tesco, Sainsbury’s and WHSmiths.
    Becky x

     
  2. kirstyross85

    February 4, 2012 at 9:38 pm

    This bookazine is a really good idea! I’m sure even though there was a lot of tears and toil gone in to it you wouldn’t have wanted anyone else to finish it for you x When is it out in the shops? I can’t wait to get my paws on it 🙂
    Happy crafting x

     

Leave a Reply

 
